These days the line between starter and reliever is becoming very blurred. Lots of pitchers these days start sometimes and relieve sometimes. If such a pitcher is rostered as a reliever, on the occasions that he starts are his innings reduced automatically for the “starting pitcher used as a reliever” rule? If so, do you think that is still appropriate? If not, how do I judge the line between when that rule would apply and when it would not?
Innings and runs are prorated by 1/3 for each start made by a pitcher who is a relief pitcher on your Mendoza roster but starts an MLB game. The idea is that the Mendoza owner can choose to use a starting pitcher as a reliever, but if you do so you cannot reap the benefit of 5-6 innings for each appearance. So a starter used as a reliever all year will give you 50-60 innings just a like a real MLB reliever.
This rule is definitely worth revisiting given the increasing prominence of the "opener", e.g., Sergio Romo. As the rules stand now, you would be required to play Romo at SP to get the full benefit of his Opener appearances. You do have 8 SP slots, so the question I have is whether that is enough to avoid an innings hit from your relievers who open games.